Struggle evidences the Spirit

by Aaron K.

If there isn’t a struggle then there isn’t the spirit of God within us – Tim Maughn

I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. I love God’s law with all my heart. But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin. (Romans 7:21-25 NLT)

What a perspective shift. The tension and struggle we experience in the Christian walk should not frustrate and discouraged but instead encourage us as it gives evidence of God’s Spirit at work within us. As Christians we can manufacture and carry a weight that was never intended as perfect obedience is impossible with a sinful nature. God’s purpose in the law is to expose this sinful nature and our need for a Savior. As Paul, arguably the most successful Chriatian in history if there was such a thing…comes face to face with the gap that exists between us and God…who will free us from this life of sin? Thank you God…for sending his son Jesus as our Savior and providing a way.

Action. My sons, don’t be surprised or frustrated by the continual god fearing tension and struggle that exists in life. The tension is evidence of victory as we are faithfully engaged in the battle. Be very alarmed when you experience no struggle as God’s spirit is not at work within us. Strong godly men live faithfully in this tension allowing it to strengthen their faith and character.

Sent from Evernote
