Brevity of life, source of great reward. 3.12.13

by Aaron K.

From Evernote:

Brevity of life, source of great reward. 3.12.13

“Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered— how fleeting my life is. You have made my life no longer than the width of my hand. My entire lifetime is just a moment to you; at best, each of us is but a breath.” Interlude We are merely moving shadows, and all our busy rushing ends in nothing. We heap up wealth, not knowing who will spend it. And so, Lord, where do I put my hope? My only hope is in you. (Psalms 39:4-7 NLT)

Proverbs describes the blessed, content man as one who thinks much about death and brevity of life…with funerals proving better than parties, for they have a refining influence on our perspective and life. Reminding us humbly that we to will be forgotten as life races on. In our best moments of life and greatest achievements we are but a breath quickly passing by. Our pride swears that there is more, so humanity keeps rushing around anxiously heaping up wealth and achievements hoping to retain some eternal place of immortality and respect in the minds of man. Action. My sons, be still and rest, for the sooner God can anchor in our hearts and minds a daily sense of the brevity of life…the more blessed, joyful and content we will be. It is in this sweet humble place that life’s simple little blessings and Gods joy begins revealing itself. Pride functionally is life’s great thief…robbing us of the blessed joyful life as we seek to make a name for ourself. The blessed man enjoys the simple sweetness of today for he knows life and its achievements quickly fade, choosing not to worry and fret when in God’s grace, deep joy is his to be had today.

