Fear of failure. 5.4.11 & 9.24.12

by Aaron K.

From Evernote:

Fear of failure. 5.4.11 & 9.24.12

“The next servant said, ‘Master, here’s your money safe and sound. I kept it hidden in the cellar. To tell you the truth, I was a little afraid. I know you have high standards and hate sloppiness, and don’t suffer fools gladly.’ “He said, ‘You’re right that I don’t suffer fools gladly—and you’ve acted the fool! Why didn’t you at least invest the money in securities so I would have gotten a little interest on it?’ “Then he said to those standing there, ‘Take the money from him and give it to the servant who doubled my stake.’ “They said, ‘But Master, he already has double…’ “He said, ‘That’s what I mean: Risk your life and get more than you ever dreamed of. Play it safe and end up holding the bag. -Luke 19:20-26 (the message)

Putting myself in the shoes of the servant who buried his talents….it is very easy to relate. He saw the measure of capital and resources he had been given and knew the high standards he would be held accountable to…and he froze. Afraid of failing and not measuring up…he instead played it safe, preferring not to deal with the challenges and difficulty that come with risk and action. In reality revealing himself the fool, wasting Gods allocation because of laziness and fear. Action. My sons, you are responsible and will be held accountable to God for how you invest your life. God wants you to take wise risks while seeking to maximize your potential…for it forges and deepens our faith in Him. He receives great pleasure and glory when His creation is doing well what he specifically created them to do. Please don’t ever let fear of failing prevent you from fulfilling your God given potential.

