Prisoner set free. 12.3.10 & 7.10.12

by Aaron K.

From Evernote:

Prisoner set free. 12.3.10 & 7.10.12

I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. I love God’s law with all my heart. But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin. Romans 7:21-25

What great freedom there is in Christ. The human condition is never satisfied…even when it comes to our righteousness. We are always frustrated when we know what we should do and we don’t do it. Paul, being one of the most successful Christians ever, reveals his continual frustration over the sin that continually exists in his life…to the point of saying he is miserable. What sets him free from that misery?…Christ and the good news of salvation. We don’t have to be perfect to be loved and have intimacy with God…this side of heaven sin in varying degrees will always be present. Action. My sons, be still; rest and rejoice in the good news of the gospel…live like a prisoner who has been set free from bondage and death, free to pursue the One who redeems all things making available to us the true, abundant blessed life.

