Litmus test of heart. 3.19.12

by Aaron K.

From Evernote:

Litmus test of heart. 3.19.12

When you follow the desires of your sinful nature, the results are very clear: sexual immorality, impurity, lustful pleasures, idolatry, sorcery, hostility, quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, selfish ambition, dissension, division, envy, drunkenness, wild parties, and other sins like these. Let me tell you again, as I have before, that anyone living that sort of life will not inherit the Kingdom of God.

But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things! (Galatians 5:19-23 NLT)

How can one tell if they are living in the Spirit? The verse above clearing showing that the outflowing of the attitude of our heart will very clearly identify whether we are being led by the Spirit or the flesh. How convicting… I am coming to realize that I am the common element in both. In life when I feel like dissension is every where around me, people are frustrating, personal goals aren’t aligning, impurity of thought, etc…I am the common the element in all of these. I realize it is not others…by my heart that is the problem; being led by the flesh. Same goes for seasons of blessing…when people seem to be getting along, being patient with others, seeking advancement of others, honorable and pure thought life…my heart is the common theme. Action. My sons, it is so easy to blame surrounding circumstances for our attitudes and heart condition….I realize more and more that the events and circumstances really don’t change that much but it is instead how we experience and interpret them in the fluctuating condition of our heart. We are always the common denominator in the attitude conditions listed in the verses above.

