The joy of a father. 12.3.12

by Aaron K.

From Evernote:

The joy of a father. 12.3.12

And a voice from heaven said, "This is my dearly loved Son, who brings me great joy." (Matthew 3:17 NLT)

This verse stirred in me a thought about fathers and their kids…practically thinking through what kids do that bring fathers joy. I know that is not the full intent of the verse as it is specific to Jesus…but it prompted the thought of how God practically experiences joy with His children. I am developing moments with you, Austin and Carson, as you both grow up, where I enjoy watching you play when you don’t know I’m watching. I can’t put my finger on it, but they’re special…so uniquely sweet, that it makes me wonder if that could be a fraction of how God feels watching the mundane details of His kids day. Bringing Him joy and smile…not because of the grand nature of our actions, but because we are simply His children. Action. My sons, God is not a grumpy old taskmaster, but instead a perfect heavenly father who experiences great joy in our normal everyday lives. We please Him as he watches us sleep, work and play. This joyful gaze of our heavenly father should be what drives our intimacy and obedience with Him…for our human desire to please is not bad, just needs to be focused on Him. In life, rest and rejoice in the Good News that in His kids He is fully and well pleased.

