Bringing out the best in others. 12.8.11

by Aaron K.

From Evernote:

Bringing out the best in others. 12.8.11

“I consider my ability to arouse enthusiasm among men the greatest asset I possess. The way to develop the best that is in a man is by appreciation and encouragement. There is nothing else that so kills the ambitions of a person as criticisms from superiors. I never criticize anyone. I believe in giving a person incentive to work. So I am anxious to praise but loath to find fault. If I like anything, I am hearty in my approbation and lavish in my praise" -Charles Schwab (excerpt from "How to Win Friends and Influence People" by Carnegie)

God designed humans with an innate desire to be loved and appreciated. Whether the person is a friend, co-worker, wife or son…all human intersection is built around ones craving to be valued and seen as important to those closest to them. A godly leader understands he is responsible before God for the development of all those around him, serving as the catalyst to help others to become the fullest expression of Gods unique purpose for their life. Authentic appreciation and encouragement, not empty flattery, engages and developes others with love…giving the best opportunity for one to flourish. Action. My sons, be secure in who you are in Christ, desiring in life to bring out the best in those around you. Study carefully others… seeing how God has uniquely gifted them, always sharing honest, specific encouragment in all human interactions throughout the day. You’ll honor God by functioning as His conduit of hope and encouragement to a fallen, broken world.

