Warning for high achievers. 11.3.11

by Aaron K.

From Evernote:

Warning for high achievers. 11.3.11

I also tried to find meaning by building huge homes for myself and by planting beautiful vineyards. I made gardens and parks, filling them with all kinds of fruit trees. I built reservoirs to collect the water to irrigate my many flourishing groves. I bought slaves, both men and women, and others were born into my household. I also owned large herds and flocks, more than any of the kings who had lived in Jerusalem before me. I collected great sums of silver and gold, the treasure of many kings and provinces. I hired wonderful singers, both men and women, and had many beautiful concubines. I had everything a man could desire!

So I became greater than all who had lived in Jerusalem before me, and my wisdom never failed me. I came to hate all my hard work here on earth, for I must leave to others everything I have earned. So I gave up in despair, questioning the value of all my hard work in this world.

So what do people get in this life for all their hard work and anxiety? So I decided there is nothing better than to enjoy food and drink and to find satisfaction in work. Then I realized that these pleasures are from the hand of God. For who can eat or enjoy anything apart from him? God gives wisdom, knowledge, and joy to those who please him. (Ecclesiastes 2:4-9, 18, 20, 22, 24-26 NLT)

Soloman’s wisdom is priceless…his perspective from which he is speaking being everything. When he ran all the pluses and minus on his achievements, he sadly realized the results of his hard work had deceived him for they did not equal the blessed state he had anticipated, come to find out it was the means and process of why and how the work was done along the way that determined if a man was blessed or not. He realizes, no matter the height of achievement attained in life, it’s all all about ones ability to enjoy and find satisfaction in life and work along the way. Most importantly, this pleasure in it’s truest form, comes only from God…for He is the giver of true knowledge, wisdom and joy making them available for those whose means and process please him. Action. My sons life is made up of simple formulas called wisdom and they are designed into our nature. Achievement focused only on results absent of God = a dark and meaningless life. Achievement focused on process in God recognizing, honoring way = joy and satisfaction…true blessing. My sons, go for it, working hard in life pursuing the later equasion above, for first is cursing disguised as the good life.

